When I couldn’t see…

The irony is,

the world seems colourless
to those who have eyes

and colourful to those
who are blind.

A month ago if someone would’ve said to me that I won’t be able to see clearly in the next ten days, I would’ve punched them in the face. A week ago if someone would’ve said to me that I won’t be able to see clearly ever again, I would’ve believed them without even thinking.

I wrote those lines around 11:30 p.m. after swallowing a sleeping pill, it was necessary to pen it down because my mind was restless. Until a few days ago, I had to keep my eyes closed most of the time because I was intolerant towards bright light and that was when I realised what I was missing.

I had everything around me, beauty in its simplest forms that I always chose not to see. And with my eyes closed, I kept wondering how the world around me was still as beautiful as ever, it was my heart that stopped noticing and acknowledging the little things. Be it the way my smile forms when I look into the mirror or the way my mother giggles when she’s happy. I couldn’t see anything even when I had my eyes wide open. I realised it all when I had them closed. I realised it all when I couldn’t open them… anymore.
ā€”š˜±š˜¢š˜³š˜¶š˜­ š˜Æš˜Ŗš˜Øš˜¢š˜®

Leave a comment